Home » , , , , , » IPI: World Press Freedom Heroes

IPI: World Press Freedom Heroes

Kader Kadem | 13:16 | 3Comments
International Press Institute (IPI): In 2000, on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, IPI honoured 50 World Press Freedom Heroes at its World Congress in Boston. Two additional press freedom heroes Hrant Dink of Turkey and Anna Politkovskaya of Russia were selected by the IPI Executive Board and honoured posthumously in 2006 and 2007, respectively.

In February 2010, Lasantha Wickrematunge, late editor of the Sri Lankan daily, the Sunday Leader was posthumously named a World Press Freedom Hero by a five member jury.

Lebanese journalist and television anchor May Chidiac was named 54th IPI Press Freedom Hero in March 2010.

Mexican journalist Lydia Cacho Ribeiro was the 55th World Press Freedom Hero, awarded in April 2010 for her reports on domestic violence, child prostitution, organized crime and political corruption, in which she drew attention to abuses suffered by women and children and the impunity often enjoyed by those responsible for the abuse.

In May 2010, IPI awarded the 56th award posthumously to South African editor Laurence Gandar.

In June 2010, Nedim Şener was declared a World Press Freedom Hero following the publication of his book on the murder of fellow Turkish journalist Hrant Dink.

In July 2010, Pap Saine of Gambia became the 58th World Press Freedom Hero.

In August 2010, Iranian investigative journalist and political dissident Akbar Ganji was named the 59th World Press Freedom Hero.

The Heroes of the IPI demonstrate that in spite of every obstacle and every constraint the truth ultimately prevails and is made known. The spread of democracy is relentless. And that freedom is an eternal goal for men and women everywhere. The editors and publishers you honour today and on whose behalf I have the great honour to speak, have played an essential and inspiring role in helping the people of their countries and the world achieve that freedom.

International Press Institute, World Press Freedom Heroes

Yoani Maria Sanchez Cordero, Cuba (2010)

Akbar Ganji, Iran (2010)

Pap Saine, Gambia (2010)

Nedim Sener, Turkey (2010)

Laurence Gandar, South Africa (2010)

Lydia Cacho Ribeiro, Mexico (2010)

May Chidiac, Lebanon (2010)

Lasantha Wickrematunge, Sri Lanka (2010)

Hrant Dink, Turkey (2007)

Anna Politkovskaya, Russia (2006)
Share this article :


Ankara dedi ki...

I feel a lot more people need to read this, very good info!

cheap jerseys on sale dedi ki...

I am glad to read this post, its an interesting one. I am always searching for quality posts and articles and this is what I found here, I hope you will be adding more in future. Thanks

Qigong dedi ki...


Yorum Gönder

Support : Copyright © 2011. European Court of Human Rights - All Rights Reserved
Template Modify by Website
Proudly powered by Blogger